I see you (part 2)

Previously on chapter 1: “Why? Because, I love you. Is it really that questionable? Do you want to know how I fell in love with you?” he asked again. She nodded. Not that she wants to know, but anything to keep him talking and postponing her end.

There was a silence for what seemed like an eternity, her heart beats so fast and she was sure he could hear her heartbeat. Then, he started to open his mouth, “I am really shy, you know. I need to gather my courage just to see you like this.” After he said that, suddenly her phone rang again. It was Michael; he was worried with Emily’s wellbeing. She could see that he was displeased by Michael’s calls. “Let me answer it, he will be very worried,” she said pleading. But, he does not reply her plea. He glanced at her for a moment, and then he took her phone, opens it, and sends a message to her boyfriend. ‘It isn’t a surprise that he knows my password already,’ she thought to herself.

“Where were we? Oh, right, you might not remember me, you were very young when it happen,” he said slowly. She was trembling when she heard what he said; the thought that this man has been following her since she was young is very frightening. Seeing her frightened, he approached her slowly and took her hand. She jumped at the sudden action. “Don’t be afraid, it’ll be better if you sit on your bed. You always loved bed time stories, don’t you?” with a warm yet frightening smile; he took her to her bed and covers her in her blanket. By this time, she could only do as he says, if not, there’s no telling what will happen to her. He has murdered people in cold blood; there is no telling what he can do to her.

“Now, can I continue?” he said with a very sweet voice, although sweet, it brings goosebumps in the back of her neck. She nodded, “I am very shy and when I was younger, people were not very fond of me and no one wanted to play with me, well not so different now. I am used to just watching people play and sit on the bench alone, just watching them in silence.” “Have you not tried playing with them?” she asked. Sometimes curiosity just gotten the best of her, and she dreaded her curious mind every time it appears in the worst possible timing. “Your curious mind, it’s always cute when you are curious,” he said a smile on his face. His smile brought a mix of terror and warmth. ”To answer your question, not really, they won’t accept me, and the thought of that was quite devastating,” he replied.

“It’s always like that, me watching, until one day you suddenly came to me. People are usually afraid of me and don’t bother to try and talk me. They always think of me as a weirdo, but you came to me one day. You gave me a flower and sit next to me. You stated your name, and try to talk to me, simple things, something little girls question. You could not stop talking and I remembered how you said talking with me is fun. Then, it was starting to get late and your babysitter called you to come and go back home. I went back to my own home. It was terrible, really terrible and I guess at that time I finally realized that no one likes me, other than you. I started searching for you, started to get to know you better. As you know I am very shy and the thought of talking to you again, if you hate me, I just can’t live with that. I send little presents at first, and you didn’t look very happy with that. I then started sending you better presents. But, I guess you didn’t like them, so I gave you even better ones, the ones that are closer to the heart.”

She was terrified at this point. ‘He thought that I didn’t like it because it wasn’t enough? What is wrong with his thinking?’ she thought to herself. “But, you killed people, that is wrong,” she said shuttering. “Kill people? I didn’t kill them. They killed themselves really,” he said. “I only borrow their limbs,” he continued. ‘He sounds like someone who doesn’t feel guilty at all, never mind guilty, he sounded like what he was doing wasn’t wrong,’ she thought again. She thought her life will end shorter than she thought, so she tried to speak to him, question him to at least until she can think of a way to escape. “Tell me about yourself, you know me but I don’t know you at all,” she said while trying to control her voice. “About me? No one has ever asked me to tell them about me. You are the only one,” he said smiling, his expression a mixed of happiness, sadness, and madness.

He went and touch her hair and when he was about to speak, suddenly Emily’s phone rang again. She looked at her phone, trying to see who was calling her. It was Michael. She tries to look at the face of the man who took her hostage. He looked displeased, and angered. ‘What is Michael thinking? Oh dear God, I can’t let Michael get into this mess. I thought he already sent a message to Michael. Think, Emily, think.

 “You don’t need to reply him,” she said bravely. “Tell me more about you. Your name, anything,” she continued. He changes his gaze from her phone to her. He looks calmer now; his angered expression was no more. “Waels, my name is Waels,” he said. Then, he opens his mouth again, “I don’t give my name to anyone, especially my real name, although, just like you, I too have changed my name. I hate my previous name; it brings a lot of bad memories, but I think it’s better for you to know my birth name, maybe I’ll start liking the name if you know me by Waels.”

“W-Waels, okay, tell me more, about you, your life.” “My life hmm, it’s quite boring really, you’ll get bored listening to it, but, I guess if you want, I’ll tell you,” he said while looking at her. She nodded and so he continued. “I wasn’t born in a perfect family. In fact, it was far from perfect. Ah, it’s really hard to talk about this, I left them already and I do not wish to talk about them,” he said sadly. He looked at her who was trying to listen to him. “Story for another time?” he said. “It’s getting really late, so why don’t you sleep now,” he said while stroking her hair. Just as he was about to fix and cover her in her blanket, there was a knock on the door. “Nathania, are you okay? Open the door, Nathania,” a voice called. The person outside of the door sounded worried, and the voice that calls to her was none other than Michael. On the other side of the door, standing outside of harm’s way is Emily’s boyfriend. ‘Oh, no, Michael, why is he here? Oh, he’s going to get himself killed, what should I do?’ Emily thought to herself, just as she was thinking about a way to save Michael. “Ah, it seems you have company, Emily. Someone is here to see you,” he said while standing up from the sofa.

Leave a Reply

